Built in 1850 as a Magistrates’ Court and currently closed for redevelopment.
In The Butts Conservation Area; Thames Policy
This was the site of the market in the town for at least 300 years. About 1850 the old Market House on this site was demolished and a Town Hall built as a speculative development by the Brentford Town Hall and Market House Company. It was never used as a town hall and by 1852 it housed the County and Magistrates Courts and the Board of Guardians met there. There was also a library and public meetings were held. Continue reading
Jullion Clock, Magistrates’ Court. Note the ladder inside the tower that had to be climbed up to wind the clock.
In 1755 the Brentford clockmaker, John Jullion, built a clock for the tower of the Brentford Market House. The House was demolished in 1849 and the clock was transferred to the new Town Hall that was built on the site. When this building was reconstructed in 1930 (it was by then the Magistrates’ Court) the clock was retained, and it can still be seen from the High Street. Continue reading
1935 The Romance of the Crisp
The Growth of an Industry Described to Brentford Traders
The fascinating story of the rise to national fame of the potato crisps – one of the romances of modern industry – was told to members of the Commercial Section of the Brentford Chamber of Commerce, on Tuesday night by Mr C. J. Scott, a director of Smith’s Crisps, Ltd.
Mr W. J. Meyers, Junr, presided, supported by Mr C. J. Scott and Mr C. Elkins (secretary). Others present included Mr A. E. Wiseman (president) Mr A. H. Charlton, J.P., Mr A. P. Ledsham, Mr W. J. Bolton and Mr A. E. Moore. Continue reading